Formula 1 Dutch Grand Prix Race Recap September 2022

Formula 1 Dutch Grand Prix Race Recap September 2022

Round 15 in The Netherlands, at the Circuit Zandvoort, was a fantastic race that was primarily focused on tire + pit stop strategy.


Here was our starting grid for Round 15 at the Dutch Grand Prix, as based off Qualifying the day before:

*Starting Grid*

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari)
  3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)


Lap 1 – As the Dutch Grand Prix came to a start, we witnessed an immediate touch between Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) at the first corner. Deemed a mere racing incident, the first few corners of every race can get touchy!


Lap 2 – Kevin Magnussen (HAAS) lost the rear end and slide into the barriers, smacking his left rear into the wall. Fortunately for HAAS and Kevin, the car was still drivable, and Kevin continued on in the race!


The Dutch Grand Prix very quickly became about tire + pit stop strategy, as the track proved to be very “green”. A “Green Track” symbolizes the track has not been driven around much, therefore rubber is not on the racing lines – not optimal for tire grip on a dry track.


Laps 10 – 41 proved the green track issue, as the mass amounts of pit stops proved these tire set changes:


Soft Tire Sets – 1

Medium Tire Sets – 15

Hard Tire Sets – 11


During the massive pit stop frenzy, we did witness an incident between Sergio Perez (Red Bull) and the Ferrari pit crew on Lap 15. Ferrari had a horrendous pit stop for Carlos Sainz, only coming out with 3 tires instead of four, and one of the mechanics left a wheel gun too far out in the lane which ultimately got ran over by Sergio Perez (Red Bull) when leaving the pit lane. On Lap 37 we saw Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) overtake Sergio Perez (Red Bull) on the Circuit Zandvoort main straight via DRS, followed by George Russell (Mercedes) also passing Perez on the main straight via DRS on Lap 38.


Lap 44 – 55 produced another pit stop frenzy with 16 sets of Soft Tires Sets, 5 Sets of Medium Tires, and 4 Sets of Hard Tires. During this time, we had two drivers retire from the race and settle for DNF; Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) and Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri). Valtteri lost engine power, causing a VSC (Virtual Safety Car) from lap 55 to 61, and Tsunoda had a differential failure. Whilst in a VSC, Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) was given a 5-second time penalty for an unsafe release of his pit crew due to his rear left wheel hitting Fernando Alonso’s (Alpine) front wing on pit exit.


As the race resumed on Lap 61, Max Verstappen (Red Bull) passed Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) for first place due to having a better tire choice. Shortly after on Lap 66, Lewis was also passed by his teammate George Russell and Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) due to tires. Needless to say, Mediums we’re the wrong choice for Lewis.


As the race came close to its end on Lap 67 out of 72, we witnessed two last battles; Lando Norris (McLaren) vs Fernando Alonso (Alpine) and Sergio Perez (Red Bull) vs Carlos Sains (Ferrari). In the end, Max Verstappen (Red Bull) took the victory on his home turf!



The results of the Round 15 Dutch Grand Prix resulted in the following:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. George Russell (Mercedes)
  3. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari)
  4. (Fastest Lap) – Max Verstappen (Red Bull)– 1:13:652


Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Drivers Points:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 310
  2. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) – 201
  3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 201
  4. George Russell (Mercedes) – 188
  5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 175
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 158
  7. Lando Norris (McLaren) – 82
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 66
  9. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – 59
  10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 46
  11. Kevin Magnussen (HAAS) – 22
  12. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) – 20
  13. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) – 19
  14. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) – 18
  15. Mick Schumacher (HAAS) – 12
  16. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) – 11
  17. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) – 5
  18. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – 5
  19. Alexander Albon (Williams) -4
  20. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) – 0
  21. Nico Hulkenberg (Aston Martin) – 0


Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Constructors Points:

  1. Red Bull – 511
  2. Ferrari – 376
  3. Mercedes – 346
  4. Alpine – 125
  5. McLaren – 101
  6. Alfa Romeo – 51
  7. HAAS – 34
  8. AlphaTauri – 29
  9. Aston Martin – 25
  10. Williams – 4


The Formula 1 season takes us next to Italy for Round 16 at the Autodromo Nazionale Monza! The Italian Grand Prix will take place from September 9th – September 11th. The Autodromo Nazionale Monza is a 53-lap race consisting of 11 turns and spans 5.793km (3.599 miles) per lap. Rubens Barrichello currently holds the fastest lap time of 1:21:046 from the 2004 season!


Photo Credit – Formula 1 Instagram



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *