Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix Race Recap August 2022

Formula 1 Belgian Grand Prix Race Recap August 2022

Round 14 in Belgium, at the Circuit De Spa-Francorchamps, was a fast race as we come off the Summer Break! While every time brought their best, it is still Red Bull and Ferrari at the top. Let’s dive into the details :


Here was our starting grid for Round 14 in Belgium, as based off Qualifying the day before, which was HEAVILY affected by equipment grid penalties:

*Starting Grid*

  1. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  3. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)


Lap 1 – Immediately starting into the race, we witnessed a collision between Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Fernando Alonso (Alpine)! Hamilton attempted to pass Alonso on Turn 5, but his rear right tire caught Alonso’s front left tire, sending him into the air and damaging his Mercedes. Shortly afterwards, smoke emerged from Hamilton’s car forcing him to stop and settle for a DNF. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) was forced into the gravel by avoiding an accident with Nicholas Latifi (Williams), during which Max Verstappen (Red Bull) found himself in a battle against Charles LeClerc (Ferrari). Needless to say, this was an INTENSE Lap 1.


Lap 2 – The drama continued as Nicholas Latifi (Williams) spun out by catching the gravel, forcing Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) to swerve out of the way in order to avoid a total accident. Doing so got himself beached on the gravel, forcing a DNF for his car. This called for a Yellow Safety Car, leading Latifi into the pits for new tires + front wing and Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) in for a fresh set of tires. The race resumed at the end of Lap 4.


By Lap 10, here’s our updated 1/2/3: Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), Sergio Perez (Red Bull), Max Verstappen (Red Bull). It’s worth noting Verstappen has climbed from 14th place to 3rd by this point!


Laps 11-43, quite literally on the extensive laps and time, made up for the rest of the action of the Belgian Grand Prix. Due to degradation of the tires, most of the action for the rest of the race was pit stop strategy and pit times. Laps 11-43 presented all of the following tire changes across the grid: 2 sets of Soft Tires, 12 sets of Medium Tires, 16 sets of Hard Tires. During this extensive range of time, we got to witness an absolutely brilliant drive from Max Verstappen (Red Bull), as he completely dominated the track and led Red Bull to victory!


The results of the Round 14 Belgium Grand Prix resulted in the following:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  4. (Fastest Lap) – Max Verstappen (Red Bull)– 1:49:354


Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Drivers Points:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 284
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 191
  3. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) – 186
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 171
  5. George Russell (Mercedes) – 170
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 146
  7. Lando Norris (McLaren) – 76
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 64
  9. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – 51
  10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 46
  11. Kevin Magnussen (HAAS) – 22
  12. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) – 20
  13. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) – 19
  14. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) – 18
  15. Mick Schumacher (HAAS) – 12
  16. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) – 11
  17. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) – 5
  18. Alexander Albon (Williams) – 4
  19. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) -4
  20. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) – 0
  21. Nico Hulkenberg (Aston Martin) – 0


Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Constructors Points:

  1. Red Bull – 475
  2. Ferrari – 357
  3. Mercedes – 316
  4. Alpine – 115
  5. McLaren – 95
  6. Alfa Romeo – 51
  7. HAAS – 34
  8. AlphaTauri – 29
  9. Aston Martin – 24
  10. Williams – 4


The Formula 1 season takes us next to the Netherlands for Round 15 at the Circuit Zandvoort! The Dutch Grand Prix will take place from September 2nd – September 4th. The Circuit Zandvoort is a 72-lap race consisting of 14 turns and spans 4.259km (2.646 miles) per lap. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) currently holds the fastest lap time of 1:11:097 from the 2021 season!


Photo Credit – Formula 1



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *