Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race Recap November 2022

Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Race Recap November 2022

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix at the Yas Marina Circuit was bittersweet, as it was both a phenomenal race and marks the end of the 2022 Formula 1 Season. Let’s go over some details for a race recap:

Here was our starting grid for Round 22 at the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix, as based off Qualifying:

*Starting Grid*

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  3. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari)

Lap 1 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) and Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) almost had a collision out of Turn 6, sending Hamilton wide and off into the bumpy chicanes! No investigation was necessary for Sainz β€œForcing another driver off the track” and Hamilton was forced to give the position back to Sainz after β€œPassing off the track”.

Lap 5 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) surpassed Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) on the 2nd main straightaway via DRS after just giving the 4th place position back to Sainz, regaining 4th.

Lap 8 – Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) passes Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) on the main straightaway to regain 4th place, the two are going back and forth battling it out!

Lap 13 – Alexander Albon (Williams) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 14 – Lance Stroll (Aston Martin), Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), and Kevin Magnussen (Haas) all pit for Hard tires.

Lap 15 – Esteban Ocon (Alpine), Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri), Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri), and Mick Schumacher (Haas) all Β pit for Hard tires. This is looking like a 2-stop grand prix!

LapΒ  16 – Sergio Perez (Red Bull), Lando Norris (McLaren), George Russell (Mercedes), Nicholas Latifi (Williams), and Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) have all pit for Hard tires.

Lap 18 – Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 19 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 20 – Fenando Alonso (Alpine), Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) pit for Hard tires.

Lap 21 – Max Verstappen (Red Bull) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 22 – Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) pits for Hard tires and George Russell (Mercedes) has been given a 5-second time penalty for an unsafe release during his previous pit stop.

Lap 26 – Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 28 – Fernando Alonso (Alpine) was forced to pit and retire his car due to a suspected water leak in his vehicle.

Lap 29 – Current 1-4 is Max Verstappen (Red Bull), Sergio Perez (Red Bull), Charles LeClerc (Ferrari), and Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

Lap 31 – Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) and Kevin Magnussen (Haas) both pit for Medium tires.

Lap 34 – Sergio Perez (Red Bull) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 35 – Mick Schumacher (Haas) pits for Medium tires.

Lap 36 – Alexander Albon pits for Medium tires.

Lap 39 – Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) pits for Soft tires. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) and Mick Schumacher (Haas) have an incident, both spinning out into the wall. Mick dove too deep into Turn 5 and hit Latifi in the left rear, sending them off the track.

Lap 40 – George Russell (Mercedes) and Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) both come in for tires, Charles Hard and George Medium. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) pits for a new set of tires after Lap 39 tire puncture.

Lap 41 – Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) pits for Medium tires.

Lap 42 – Esteban Ocon (Alpine) pits for Hard tires.

Lap 43 – Lando Norris (McLaren) pits for Medium tires.

Lap 45 – Sergio Perez (Red Bull) and Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) trade places back and forth, battling through the straightaways. By Lap 47, Perez overtook Hamilton for 3rd place!

Lap 46 – Zhou Gunayu (Alfa Romeo) pits for Soft tires.

Lap 52 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) receives a Black and White Flag for exceeding track limits.

Lap 56 – Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) comes into the pits and retires his car due to a mechanical hydraulic problem, forced to retire and DNF.

Lap 58 – Nicholas Latifi (Williams) heads into the pits and forced to retire due to mechanical difficulties. Making 3 drivers settling for a DNF.

In the end, it was Max Verstappen (Red Bull) with a clean victory to close out the season!

The results of the Round 22 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix resulted in the following:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  2. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari)
  3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
  4. (Fastest Lap) – Lando Norris (McLaren)– 1:28:391

Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Drivers Points:

  1. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 454
  2. Charles LeClerc (Ferrari) – 308
  3. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 305
  4. George Russell (Mercedes) – 275
  5. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – 246
  6. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 240
  7. Lando Norris (McLaren) – 122
  8. Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 92
  9. Fernando Alonso (Alpine) – 81
  10. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 49
  11. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren) – 37
  12. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin) – 37
  13. Kevin Magnussen (HAAS) – 25
  14. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) – 23
  15. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin) – 18
  16. Mick Schumacher (HAAS) – 12
  17. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)) – 12
  18. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo) – 6
  19. Alexander Albon (Williams) – 4
  20. Nicholas Latifi (Williams) – 2
  21. Nyck De Vries – 2
  22. Nico Hulkenberg – 0

Here are the Current Standings for Formula 1 Constructors Points:

  1. Red Bull – 759
  2. Ferrari – 554
  3. Mercedes – 515
  4. Alpine – 173
  5. McLaren – 159
  6. Alfa Romeo – 55
  7. Aston Martin – 55
  8. HAAS – 37
  9. AlphaTauri – 35
  10. Williams – 8

The 2022 Formula 1 season is officially over and resulted in the following:

Constructors Championship – Red Bull

Drivers Championship – Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

*Article coming following Constructors Championship and Drivers Championship highlights*

Photo Credit – Formula 1 Instagram

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *